I would like the people that had been fired like me to speak out, to demand their rights!

Posted: August 5, 2010 in Uncategorized
“I would like the people that had been fired like me to speak out, to demand their rights. I want for Family Dollar to stop intimidating employees, to change its labor practices , and to change the way they treat employees and to stop overworking managers!” Abel Lopez, RWRC member
 
 
 
Interview with retail Workers Rights Committee member, ex-Family Dollar manager Abel Lopez 
 
 
 
 
 

1. Why are you protesting against Family Dollar?

Because we want the customers and the workers to know that the way they run business is wrong, the way they treat employees is a violation of the Fair Labor Standard Act. It is the best example of how store managers are being exploited and the way the company it’s making money and becoming more successful.

2. What was your job/position there?

I was a Store Manager just by title. I used to sweep, mop, unload trailers between 1100 – 1500 cases per week, stock merchandise, clean restrooms, even unclog toilets, clean warehouse, sweep parking lot, received outside vendors, clean windows, actually I was more like a maintenance person instead of manager, my job was more cleaning, stocking, and other manual functions compared to office duties that where actually 2 hours in the morning to count money, go to the bank, do paperwork, opening and closing the store, do deposits, and the hiring process. I intreviewed people only when I was in the need of an employee, not a daily task. I would say 80% of my job was manual activity and 20% office work.

3. How long did you work there?

I worked at Family Dollar for 7 years and 6 months.

4. How many hours a week did you work?

My average work week was 60 hours to 80 hours and sometimes up to 90 hours per week.

5. Why were you fired?

Supposedly because of store conditions, my District Manager Brenda Valenzuela told me to go on vacations before I got fired, and that when I returned I needed to figure a way to empty my warehouse. She mentioned that my performance as manager was good along with my sales even with  having a full warehouse. My sales were always improving. I was above of what I was asked. My sales floor wasn’t a problem, it was always fully stocked, recovered and in shape. The problem was the warehouse, but if I got fired because of this, I know other managers that have this same problem and haven’t been fired like me.

6. What do you want from this campaign?

I would like the people that had been fired like me to speak out, to demand their rights. I want for Family Dollar to stop intimidating employees, to change its labor practices , and to change the way they treat employees and to stop overworking managers!

7. What is your message for other Family Dollar employees?

I know it’s hard for them to speak out, to join us, but I understand that they are with me, not to risk their position, but to talk. There is someone on above everyone. If they don’t get answers do not stop trying until someone does something. If that doesn’t happened do not hesitate to contact us, together we can make things happened and get better results!

8. What is your message for other retail workers?

Unfortunately we don’t see anything wrong when they (companies) let us work, when no one bothers you, but your time is money. Why will you be working so many hours unpaid for a company when you will probably end up like me (fired)? Work and take care of your job but don’t let anyone treat you bad. No one needs to be yelled at, threated, denigrated, etc. Make sure you are being treated and payed the way everyone deserves. If you are not, reach out to the RWRC and get involved in the fight for workers rights!

Comments
  1. heidy says:

    HI, i was working in familydollar and i was fired for no reazon and maybe you can answer my question, the manager told me that if they put me bad record or fire me i never could get another job in a store like wallmart,target etc.. because the familydollar work with the same hiring sistem than the other stores, that worries my a lot is that true? i know Brenda valenzuela and my manager was Alondra Montiel.

Leave a Reply

